Key points
- Anthropic's compute bill could reach $517 billion
- Amazon and Google carry most of the capacity
- Four deals are public, most prices are not
- Contracted compute is not near-term spending
Anthropic has signed cloud, chip and data center agreements that could cost as much as $517 billion over the coming decade, according to an analysis by The Information. The total covers at least 14.8 gigawatts of capacity agreed since October, but Anthropic has not confirmed the aggregate figure, the contract prices or every underlying agreement.
Amazon (AMZN) and Google parent Alphabet (GOOGL) account for about 11 GW of the new capacity and more than $300 billion of the estimated spend over about ten years, according to the report. The rest is spread among Microsoft (MSFT), Advanced Micro Devices (AMD), SpaceX (SPCX) and several private cloud providers.
| Supplier | Capacity | Cost | Confirmed by Anthropic? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon (AMZN) and Alphabet (GOOGL) | About 11 GW combined | More than $300B over about 10 years | No, estimate only |
| Alphabet (GOOGL) and Broadcom (AVGO) | Multiple GW of TPUs from 2027 | Not disclosed | Yes, April 6, 2026 |
| Microsoft (MSFT) | Up to 1 GW of Azure | $30B of Azure capacity | Yes, November 18, 2025 |
| SpaceX (SPCX) | 300 MW and 220,000 GPUs at Colossus 1 | Not disclosed, reported near $45B | Yes, May 6, 2026 |
| Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) | Up to 2 GW of MI450 chips | Not disclosed | Yes, July 22, 2026 |
| CoreWeave (CRWV), Lambda, Nscale, Fluidstack | Inside the 14.8 GW | Not broken out | No, estimate only |
What Anthropic has actually confirmed
Four agreements carry Anthropic's name on the announcement, and three of the four came with no price. On November 18, 2025, Anthropic said it would buy $30 billion of Azure compute and contract up to one gigawatt of capacity, in a joint announcement with Microsoft and Nvidia in which Nvidia (NVDA) said it would invest up to $10 billion in Anthropic and Microsoft up to $5 billion. On May 6, 2026, Anthropic said it had taken all the compute at SpaceX's Colossus 1 site, more than 300 megawatts and over 220,000 Nvidia GPUs, without disclosing terms. On July 22, 2026, AMD and Anthropic said they would deploy up to 2 gigawatts of Instinct MI450 chips in Helios racks, with the first gigawatt starting in the first half of 2027, and AMD committed to an equity investment of up to $5 billion.
The fourth is the largest and the vaguest. In an April 6 release, Anthropic set out an agreement with Google and Broadcom for multiple gigawatts of next-generation TPU capacity starting in 2027, with no price attached and no gigawatt number given. "We are making our most significant compute commitment to date to keep pace with our unprecedented growth," Krishna Rao, Anthropic's chief financial officer, said at the time.
The prices are where the reporting takes over. The combined Amazon and Alphabet figure above $300 billion is an estimate, the near $45 billion attached to Colossus 1 is an estimate, and the share belonging to CoreWeave, Lambda, Nscale and Fluidstack has not been broken out at all. SpaceX has since signed a separate hosting deal that chief financial officer Bret Johnsen put at about $1.11 billion a month from December 1, and he did not say who the customer is.
Why $517 billion is not next year's spending
Anthropic previously told investors it expected to spend about $180 billion renting servers through 2029, according to the same report. The $517 billion figure is close to three times that, but it also runs about five years longer and covers chips and data center agreements the earlier number left out. The capacity behind it arrives in stages: Google's TPUs start in 2027, AMD's first gigawatt lands in the first half of 2027, and the Azure commitment is a purchase Anthropic works through rather than a bill due at signing.
The suppliers' side of arrangements like these shows how slowly the money moves. Oracle (ORCL) reported $664 billion of remaining performance obligations for the quarter ended August 31, and said in its 10-Q that it expects to recognize about 13% of that as revenue over the next twelve months. A contracted compute backlog is measured in years, whichever side of it a company sits on.
What would fund it
Anthropic is private, does not report revenue, and has not filed publicly for a listing, so there is no disclosure showing what the company earns against these commitments. Anthropic has settled on Nasdaq for a possible listing, Business Insider reported, citing a person familiar with the plans. Nvidia is in talks to anchor the deal with as much as $10 billion, Reuters reported on September 11.
The tension in Amodei's position
Chief executive Dario Amodei published an essay on September 12 asking frontier AI labs to slow the rate at which models gain capability. One passage in it reaches the inputs the buildout is priced on, and he raised it as a secondary option rather than a proposal, with no threshold, timeline or enforcement mechanism attached.
"We should also consider pacing based on limiting the ingredients that go into frontier models, such as training compute, the nature of training runs, or internal use of AI to improve AI," Amodei wrote. He followed it immediately: "I do worry that some of these measures may be more 'gameable' than external behavior, but this is the kind of topic worth discussing with embedded evaluators."



